As the world recovers from the Covid-19 pandemic, most employees are excited about getting back to work at their physical offices. While this is a positive thing, it does have various risks. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics in 2019 reported an injury incidence rate of 2.8 per 100 employees.
That’s a worrying statistic for any employee, as an injury can mean loss of income. Thankfully, the Workers’ Compensation Benefits program exists to help injured employees stay on their feet. Note that another concern associated with workers’ compensation is eligibility. Read on to find out.
If you need help with claiming your workers’ comp benefits, Gearhart Law Group can help.
How Long Should You Have Worked to Be Eligible?
Georgia Law requires that all businesses with three or more workers, including regular part-timers, have workers’ compensation insurance coverage. This means that you are immediately covered by workers’ comp the moment you get to your new workplace. There is no minimum duration you need to work for the coverage to commence.
Workers’ compensation is responsible for your medical costs, provided the injury or illness you suffer from results from a workplace or work-related injury. If you, as the claimant, require medical treatment, workers’ comp will readily step in to take care of your medical bills and income compensation.
The medical benefits you receive from workers’ comp will only cease when your doctors decide that your condition has reached maximum medical improvement. The Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) is determined as the point where the injury or illness you are suffering cannot undergo further improvement via medical intervention.
How Long Will You Receive Medical Benefits from Workers’ Compensation?
The duration in which a workers’ comp will provide you with benefits is determined by how long it takes to receive treatment and recover from your illness or injuries. This is dependent on factors such as
- The severity of your injuries
- The impact those injuries have on your ability to perform your current job
- Whether the injury means you have suffered some level of disability
Typically, workers’ comp will mail you checks for up to two-thirds of your pre-injury weekly wages for up to 400 weeks. The procedures set the cap at $675. In certain cases, the injuries or illness mean your working capacity is diminished, and you can’t work at pre-injury levels. You will continue receiving workers’ comp benefits for up to 350 weeks.
In cases where you experience permanent disability, you may receive your weekly wages for the rest of your life. With all these scenarios, you need a competent lawyer to help you through the process. Get in touch with us for a free case evaluation.
Need Help Getting Started With Worker’s Compensation in Georgia?
The Workers’ Compensation journey can be a tight rope to walk alone. Even though you may be doing what you think is best, that could be all that’s needed to disqualify you. However, you don’t need to worry whether you are making the right moves when you engage experienced attorneys. Contact us to learn more.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who pays the medical bills?
Your employer’s insurance carrier, which guarantees workers’ compensation, pays the medical bills.
What happens when I can’t get another job because of my injuries?
You are eligible for weekly benefits, depending on the type and severity of the disability. The physician confers a disability rating based on guidelines put together by the American Medical Association.
Is it possible to receive both workers’ compensation and Social Security benefits simultaneously?
Yes, you may receive both. However, you can get reduced social security benefits.